Social Oddities.

First odditie: My last post..  Arabella’s comment.  It was not unique, and it was echoed by about 3 different people to me as well in private.  I am just completely confused… when did we get to the point that someone being nice made them a person to be warry of?  I’ve had people saying I need to keep a eye on him because he might be a rapist and.. just all of the most horrible accusations you can think of.

This got me thinking of what sort of phenomenon is going on here.  Historically, and personally, I do not feel that this suspicion should be natural.  (keep in mind though, that I am naturally suspicious of everything).  My first assumption was that perhaps this was brought forth by some subconscious racism, but after further consideration of the character and backgrounds of the people who have advised me off this, I am convinced this is not the case.  The only other reasoning that I can think of, is the “too good to be true” phenomenon. Where people have conditioned to expect that there is always a catch to something.  Kind of makes me wonder if this is part of the reason people are so suspicious of me?  Maybe if i stop doing stuff for free I can gain peoples trust :P.

Second Odditie..  this one was probably my fault.  I was at work, a girl walks in from outside, head red and sweaty, shes completely exhausted, and asks if I have a cup or something I can get her some ice or water in.  I apologized that i didn’t and told her that she might be able to buy something next door, they have cokes cheap.  She left, and I kinda felt bad telling her to spend money, I really hate feeling like I was advertising, specially when she was in need.  A few minutes later she came in and had a cup and asked if I could fill it up with some water for her, so I ran over and did that, but I also wanted to give her a couple bucks so she could buy a drink next door.  I kept reaching in my pocket for a few ones but all I could grab was a five, and since I was in a rush to get her the water, and because I was having a very generous day from other peoples tips, i decided that was fine and made her take that too.  And that’s where it got really awkward, because she asked if i meant for her to have it..and i had to say yes, go buy yourself something.. and then she asked if it was from me.. and I had to confirm that too.. and the whole time i really wish she would have just said thanks so much and ran off, I didn’t want to have to direct the recognition at me so much.  And then to make things even worse she told me i was really sweet and thanks, at which point i couldn’t take it any more and I told her to leave (in a half joking voice so I wasn’t rude), and luckily, was saved by a phone call I had to answer.

Oh, i just got done helping Laura plant 17 trees. Exhausted.

3 Comments

  1. not giving a bit of water to someone in need was kinda ass-ish, but then you gave her enough money for a bottle or two (that’s about the price over here, perhaps over here that would be enough for a bit more, dunno), that kinda compensated, but the whole thing was kinda awkward if you hadn’t been caught off guard you would probably have been nicer than that

    • oh, the first time I couldn’t just because we simply didn’t have any cups. The awkward part for me was dealing with her after I had been nice.

  2. long time since i haven’t be nice…
    when you offer a cup most people want a bottle… when you offer a bottle the want ice in it…
    some don’t, it is true, but i am not enough innocent to think “it might be true”.
    in my RL job when a branch is rotten we cut it even if there is good fruits on it.

    But i still like people like you LGG, world is like ying/yang.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

